1	DURHAM-CHAPEL HILL-CARRBORO METRO	OPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION	
2 3	TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEETING April 9, 2024		
4	MINUTES OF MEETING		
5 6 7	The Durham-Chapel Hill-Carrboro Metropolitan Planning Organization Technical Committee met on April 9, 2024, at 1:30 p.m. in the Long Leaf Conference Room at the Central Pines Regional Council office and through the Zoom teleconferencing platform. The following members were in attendance:		
8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25	Nishith Trivedi (Chair) Tina Moon (Member) Bergen Watterson (Member) Ben Berolzheimer (Member) Caroline Dwyer (Member) Thanh Schado (Member) Tom Devlin (Member) Eric Vitale (Member) Eric Vitale (Member) Tasha Johnson* (Member) Aaron Cain (Member) Ryan Eldridge (Member) Matt Efird* (Member) Paul Black (Member) Matt Day (Member) Brandon Jones (Member) Julie Bogle (Member) Anne Calef (Alternate) Joe Geigle (Member Non-Voting)	Orange County Town of Carrboro Town of Chapel Hill Town of Chapel Hill Town of Chapel Hill Chatham County City of Durham City of Durham Durham County Durham County Durham County Town of Hillsborough GoTriangle Central Pines Regional Council NCDOT Division 5 NCDOT TPD Research Triangle Foundation FHWA	
26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39	Meg Scully* (Alternate) Delia Chi* (Alternate) Bill Judge* Erin Convery (Alternate) Scott Whiteman (Alternate) Tracy Parrott (Alternate) David Keilson (Alternate) Chad Reimakoski (Alternate) Jeron Monroe* Landon Coley (Alternate) Lindsay Smart* Marie Parker* Patricia McGuire (Alternate)	GoTriangle RDUAA City of Durham City of Durham Durham County NCDOT Division 5 NCDOT Division 5 NCDOT Division 7 NCDOT Division 7 NCDOT Division 8 University of North Carolina City of Durham Town of Carrboro Town of Carrboro Benesch	
39 40	INCO INIZEYE		
41 42 43	Doug Plachcinski Colleen McGue David Miller	DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO	

1

44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52	Filmon Fishastion Kelly Richard* Dolly Hall-Quinlan* KC Chae Yanping Zhang Jean Debnam Madeline Galliano Cameron Schuler Quorum count: 16 of 25 voting members	DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO DCHC MPO	
53	*Attended remotely		
54	Chair Nish Trivedi called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.		
55 56	2. <u>Roll Call</u>	<u>RIES:</u>	
57	The roll call was completed using a sign-in sheet for in-person attendees, and the Zoom participant		
58	list for remote attendees.		
59	3. Adjustments to the Agenda		
60	Chair Nish Trivedi asked the Technical Committee if there were any adjustments to the agenda.		
61	There were no comments.		
62	4. Public Comments		
63	Chair Nish Trivedi asked if there were any public	comments. Diane Roberston spoke on behalf of	
64	Friends of Bolin Creek. She addressed her concerns ab	out keeping the Bolin Creek Phase 3 and Phase	
65	4 off of the funding list due to the impact she believes the	e Phases will have on Bolin Forest and Bolin	
66	Creek.		
67 68	CONSENT AG	ENDA:	
69 70 71	5. <u>Approval of the March 12, 2024, TC Meeting Minut</u> Jean Debnam, MPO Staff	<u>es</u>	
72 73	6. <u>Go Durham Letter of Support</u> Sean Egan, City of Durham		
74 75 76	7. <u>Triangle Mobility Letter of Support</u> Jay Heikes, GoTriangle		
77 78	8. <u>MPO Planning Area Boundary and Organization</u> Doug Plachcinski, AICP, CFM, DCHC MPO Execut	ive Director	

79	A motion was made by Paul Black to approve the consent agenda with a correction to add Tina	
80	Moon to the attendant list. Eric Vitale seconded the motion.	
81	The motion passed unanimously.	
82 83 84 85 86	ACTION ITEMS: 8. <u>Amendment #2 to the FY2024-2033 Transportation Improvement</u> Program (TIP)	
87	Filmon Fishastion, MPO	
88 89	Filmon Fishastion provided updates on Amendment #2 of the FY2024-2033 TIP. He informed the	
90	committee that at the release of the agenda, there were no public comments. Mr. Fishastion noted that	
91	two statewide projects had also been added since the release of the TIP list. Tom Devlin asked if the	
92	committee was still on schedule for Amendment # 4 going live In June, to which Mr. Fishastion replied	
93	yes.	
94	Eric Vitale made a motion to recommend that the MPO Board adopt TIP Amendment #2. The	
95	motion was seconded by Tom Devlin. The motion passed unanimously.	
96 97 98	10. <u>FY2025 Call for Projects Recommendation</u> Filmon Fishastion, MPO Board	
99	Filmon Fishastion gave the background information that shaped this year's Call for Projects. He	
100	explained the adoption of the Federal Funding Policy and the creation of the Regional Federal Funding	
101	(RFF) program. Mr. Fishastion reminded the TC of the increased contingency amounts and modifications	
102	to the scoring rubric that were adopted in the fall of 2023. Mr. Fishastion provided a summary of all the	
103	projects submitted and shared the list of the proposed projects for funding in the MPO's Call for Projects.	
104	Eric Vitale made a motion that the MPO Board adopt the proposed projects to be funded through	
105	the FY2025 -Call for Projects with the friendly amendment to provide additional comments after the TC	
106	meeting to the Board. The motion was seconded by Tom Devlin. The motion passed unanimously.	
107 108 109 110	INFORMATIONAL ITEMS: 11. <u>Congestion Management Process (CMP) Update</u> Yanping Zang, MPO Staff	
111		

112	Yanping Zhang gave an update on the Congestion Management Process (CMP) and shared a		
113	presentation on bicycle level of traffic stress for the Durham urbanized area developed by the CMP		
114	consultant team.		
115 116	12. <u>Report from the Staff</u>		
117	Doug Plachcinski, AICP, CFM, DCHC MPO Executive		
118	No additional report.		
119	13. Report from the Technical Committee Chair		
120	Nish Trivedi, TC Chair		
121	No additional report.		
122 123 124	14. <u>NCDOT Reports</u> Lisa Mathis, NC Board of Transportation		
125	Not present.		
126	Brandon Jones (David Keilson, Tracy Parrott) Division 5- NCDOT		
127 128	Brandon Jones had no additional report.		
129	Wright Archer (Chad Reimakoski, Stephen Robinson), Division 7 – NCDOT		
130	Chad Reimakoski had no additional report.		
131	Deuken Dieklau (Druge Klucken, Janen Mennes), Divisien (J. NODOT		
132			
133 134	Jeron Monroe had no additional report.		
135	Julie Bogle, Transportation Planning Division – NCDOT		
136	Julie Bogle announced the retirements of Jamaal Ellerbee and Scott Walston within her		
137	organization.		
138			
139	John Grant, Traffic Operations – NCDOT		
140	No report.		
141 142	Bryan Lopez (Interim) - NCDOT IMD		
143	Not present.		
144			
145 146	12. <u>Recent News Articles and Updates</u>		
147			
148	ADJOURNMENT		
149	There being no other business to discuss, Chair Nish Trivedi adjourned the meeting at 2:30 p.m.		